You can sell shit and get thanks. That’s what i learned from the yanks

so i finally saw american dreamz

o.k, firstly – the instances of me being bored during any movie in which hugh grant has screen time are pretty rare. by which i mean nine months. add in a ‘caddish’ personna and it sinks to somewhere around nil.

but

this movie is bad

so bad that ‘bored’ nowhere near covers it

so bad it made me want to eat my own hair just to see if coughing up a furball would be more fun.

oh. my. god.

the plot was non existant. the script was painful. not funny enough to be funny and not … well, anything else really. willem defoe was completely wasted. mandy moore made my head hurt. hugh grant seemed to be acting vaugely drunk.

or maybe he was vaugely drunk.

i would have been if i was him.

even lair of the white worm was more entertaining.

i don’t know whether it always stank and the cast were all in the grip of some kind of paycheck fever when they signed on the dotted line or whether it was butchered in a post test screening editing frenzy – but either way –

baaaaaad

please hugh, don’t do this to me again.

0 thoughts on “You can sell shit and get thanks. That’s what i learned from the yanks

  1. The movie poster looked cutting and snarky and sardonic and wonderful, but I haven’t seen American Dreamz. And given that everyone seems to think it’s hideous, I probably won’t see it either.

    Hugh Grant is one of those people I want to hate but just can’t. The bugger is just so disarming.

  2. yeah, i hoped it was going to be a sharp,nasty, offensive satire. but it was just dull, nasty and offensivley boring.

    i wish hugh (we’re on first name terms now) would do more interviews and so on because he’s a very good interviewee – very funny, dry wit. self depreciating and charming. i think he hates all that promotional stuff though.

    not that i would bother promoting this particular turkey anyway.

  3. “so bad it made me want to eat my own hair just to see if coughing up a furball would be more fun”

    For this reason alone I won’t be seeing this movie.

    I have liked Hugh Grant in the few movies I’ve seen him in, but he seems to have reprised his 4W&aF persona a few times… still he is charming.

Leave a Reply

